A lorry driver's fault!

I bought a Travel Card for the third time this week and caught the 9.51 train to Waterloo. From there I descended into the bowels of the earth and took the Jubilee Line to Bermondsey from where a 10 minute walk took me to the office at Providence Square where Mr Mustakim Momin, the Jacob's Island Residents' Association Development Manager, greeted me by name. I had written to him asking for permission to see the garden in Providence Square, a private residential area. Jacob's Island was the most notorious slum in London at one time and Dickens set Bill Sykes' home there in Oliver Twist.

I had a great time there and met the gardeners - we had a good long chat! After I left I wandered back past Tower Bridge and along the South Bank, visiting Borough Market - see extra - where I sampled a lot of cheese and bought one bit! I finally returned to Waterloo in good time to catch the 16.12 train to Hampton. Unfortunately a lorry had hit a railway bridge so the line between Waterloo and Vauxhall was closed. I eventually managed to get back to Hampton via numerous underground and bus routes - it took two and a half hours instead of one! My knees are killing me!

A good day, mostly overcast but with a few short flashes of sunshine - at least it didn't rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.