Churches, pubs and Poirot

Went up to London again today and met fellow Blipper HClaireB outside Farringdon Station - my first trip on the Elizabeth Line. She'd promised me a tour of the Clerkenwell and Smithfield areas of London and I was taken to many wonderful places which I would have never found on my own. 

Smithfield Market, The Charterhouse, numerous old pubs - just the outsides! - ancient buildings, gardens and snippets of history of all kinds and from all periods. Next time I must take a dictaphone as I can't remember half of what I was told! 

After we parted I carried on down Farringdon Road and Fleet Street, visiting St Brides Church (my extra) on the way and eventually catching  the Tube back to Waterloo and thence home to my sister's in Hampton. Altogether a fascinating day - everywhere you look there are amazing and unexpected places probably unseen by the tourists passing through the area.  

My Blip today will be recognised by fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot - this is Florin Court, in Charterhouse Square, Smithfield, which was used as Whitehaven Mansions in the most recent TV series. I must have another look at some of the episodes to see how it looks!

Back up to town tomorrow - but that's another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.