carliewired

By carliewired

59 F/ 15 C

Puddles everywhere
as the earth takes a big drink
during the rainfall

~carliewired

I was on my way to the Schubert Drive Lookout at 8. We have a second day of light rain which we desperately need. 

I arrived to find a mower unit already there. It appears that the city is doing a big cleanout of the landscaping and underbrush. The little gulley beside the road looks bare with just the large logs left. Previously, this spot had been an encampment. There is only one small tent tucked under the trees beside the river now.

The mower is large - like one's lawnmower on steroids. It slashes and chops everything it's aimed at leaving little piles of wood chips on the ground. It left right after I parked my car. 

I took several shots looking out to the North Thompson River. I could look north to the railway bridge, south to the city and east to my mountains now draped in cloud. 

The rain began after lunch yesterday and continues. There are huge puddles everywhere and many are churned up like chocolate milk. The kids will have great fun with them on their way to school this morning.

It will be an inside day for me.  I hope it is a quiet one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.