Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Building the nest

This photo will win me no prizes, but I decided to blip it anyway. It's at Blackford Pond where by chance I met up with JH which was lovely. Mrs Swan showed us her eggs as she stood up to tend to them - J counted seven while I took a photo which showed only two eggs, so I would have been better just looking - when will I learn? We sat in the sun at the far end of the pond and blethered for a while, then walked round the far side of the pond where we watched two little grebes building this nest which is basically a mound of dead vegetation, mostly reeds from last year at a guess. It isn't in a very good position, quite exposed, so I don't know how well they will do. I think they sometimes have a few goes before they're successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.