Smarties

What on earth happened here?

Smart used to be more than a smart little car, it was a concept, a lifestyle, a modern look at the world.

It was - and in my opinion still is - a brilliant little city vehicle. You just had to smile when you looked at it, a thing the designers smartly stressed by designing every detail in a smiling mouth shape (just look at the grille for instance)

I also owned one to drive in Amsterdam and I would still like to have it.

I spotted this lot a few weeks ago and as the weather was very dark and rainy today, I thought it was the right atmosphere to emphasize my sad feelings about the dark clouds that hang over what should have been the pioneer in future driving.

By the way a sign on the gate said that all these cars are for sale in one buy. Inquiries: +31 6 2888 6143

If you can handle the pain there's a 'L' for large key on your keyboard.

Update: glad to hear there's a new generation electric smart cars coming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.