Millennia

Reaching four figures seemed the right occasion for another big number and the opportunity to blip north Pembrokeshire's most famous landmark, Pentre Ifan. It's a prehistoric tomb that dates back at least 5000 years, standing on elevated ground with a view of the sea to the north and of Carningli mountain to the west.
Technically a portal dolmen, it would have originally been covered by a mound of earth, with two arms (or legs) forming an entrance leading into an internal chamber created by the huge stones which still remain. From some angles they resemble a huddle of cowled figures frozen in the act of transporting a shrouded body, the capstone (estimated to weigh 40 tonnes)  perched 8 feet above the ground.

The tomb has been documented for centuries, has been a magnet for travellers and a focus of myths and legends: that it was the site of a college for druids, or the temple of Ceridwen even. Nothing can be certain save that the location was chosen with care; it never fails to impress, inspire and awe whatever the weather or the season, or even if, as today,  a group of foreign teenagers arrives to pay noisy respects.

So, a thousand blips seems a minor achievement compared to the age and duration of Pentre Ifan but it has been a satisfying and often exhilarating creative exercise for me and I'd like to thank all those of you who have looked at, commented on, complimented and taken an interest in my journal. It was not something I expected when I started but it's certainly what has kept me going over the rough patches. Now, the next couple of months will be busy ones for me with a houseful of family and visitors so I may not blip as frequently as before. On the the other hand since I enjoy the challenge of combining words and images so much I may carry on much as before - who knows? I'm unlikely to be able to comment as often as I would like and for that I apologize.

The light today was rather dull and some of the images seemed to look better in monochrome - what do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.