MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Goodbye Grandma

This may be one of those strange things to do, but Grandma asked me to take a picture of her in her coffin. This is probably largely because my more juvenile self did this for Grandpa a little over 10 years ago.

Life has been so intense the past two weeks, but as Grandma was passing, she reminded us all to "live each day like it's your last." My body is now so worn, if FEELs like my last day. I mean, it's been one hell of a two weeks.

My Grandmother was one of the funniest people I had ever met, but I don't think she ever intended to be. She constantly reminded me that "patience is a virtue," and it was the last virtue she ever had to contend with, complaining "I can't even DIE perfectly" as she waited her last few days in hospital and then in hospice for her time to come. Grandma was remarkably beautiful - from her ivory skin and cherry lips to the way she accepted anyone for who they were, no questions asked. I miss her, but in a peaceful way- she was accepting of her final journey and continues, even now, to spread her beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.