kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Smoking?

I'll tell ya all, a funny story about smoking from many years ago. Sometime in the summer of 1996, I suffered a minor heart attack. It was enough to wake me up in the middle of the night.

Even the folks at the emergency room will tell you that most folks do NOT want to call the emergency services in the middle of the night. Most folks DO NOT want to see flashing lights and sirens in front of their house in the middle of the night :)

So.... I waited until daybreak and called my usual physician who told me to call the emergency number - NOT. Instead, I drove myself to the ER and had one last smoke in the parking lot before going in, and telling them that I think I just had a heart attack :)

Just one bit of trivia - once you say those two magic words - you IMMEDIATELY go to the head of the line, regardless of who arrived before you :) You are seen in seconds :)

Last smoke I had... and it turned out that I had a cardiac instance about eight hours prior. It really turns out that it was a GOOD thing - as I was told that there is an "enzyme" marker that does not appear until about after eight hours after the incident.

Next morning, it was time to get wheeled into the surgery suite, which resulted in my first cardiac 2 way heart bypass, which lasted me an incredible 14 years -TWICE the average! Last bypass (#2) was in 2010, and life is still good.

No more smoking - but "smoked ham" sounds wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.