An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Girl interrupted...again!

D and I were both up early as our local plumber was coming to do the annual service of the heating system. He arrived just after 8am.  

D left just before 11am as he had an appointment with the hygienist in St Andrews.  I would have gone with him but decided I better stay incase the plumbers encountered any issues with the heating system.

After lunch I got back to crocheting the cuddle blanket.  It was so lovely sitting in the sunshine in the garden room, listening to music and getting closer to completing the blanket.  

Just after 3.30pm I decided I'd done enough crocheting for the day and folded the blanket and set it aside.  I was just contemplating making coffee when I felt a cool draft hitting my forearms from the open windows.  A bit strange I thought as the sun was still strong and there wasn't a hint of a breeze outside.  It started to make sense a few minutes later as the breeze I felt on my arms steadily spread through my body in every direction.  It literally felt like iced water making its way through my veins.  Oh dear, this felt depressingly familiar.

By the time D got home at 4.30pm I was wrapped from head to toe in the blanket shivering violently and feeling very nauseous.  Despite knowing the shivering (rigors) means I have a fever, the feeling of being so cold is awful and the thought of removing the blanket unbearable.  

D quickly got the thermometer and stuck it in my ear.  It registered 39.8.  As it was still during surgery hours D phoned the health centre and explained my symptoms and how it's not the first time this has happened (only 9 weeks since the last time!) and she said she would get the on call doctor to come and see me.  She arrived about 30 minutes later from another house call.  

By this time the feeling of being freezing cold had gone and I was absolutely melting, despite having taken paracetamol and cool cloths on my forehead and back of my neck.

 After examining me and a brief discussion she said hospital was the place for me and asked if we would make our own way there as that would be quicker than waiting for an ambulance.  She left saying she would call us back shortly to let us know which hospital to go to.  Sure enough she called back and said we'd to go to PRI.  And off we went.

I was triaged quite quickly in A&E and taken through to the treatment area about five minutes later.  Once again the staff were amazing.  A cannula was put in and the nurse said the A&E doctor would be in to see me shortly.  She appeared a few minutes later to advise I wouldn't be seeing the A&E doc as the on-call GP had arranged for me to be admitted straight to Ward 4!  So off I was taken!  Luckily D had quickly packed a bag as we knew I would be kept in.

Over the course of the next few hours I received IV antibiotics, paracetamol, my stats were checked many times, an ECG, a  chest x-ray (to rule out pneumonia) and bloods taken.

Didn't get much sleep as I was so meltingly hot.  A lovely nurse appeared just after 5am with a fan and set it up beside my bed.  She'd had to steal it from another ward.  The feel of the cool air on my face was absolute heaven and I finally managed to fall into a sort of sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.