Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Food for thought

I wondered this lizards trying to sneak up on the cicada for a meal.

I wondered if it could get that big bug in its mouth.

I wondered how that bug and its family made so much noise. It is so eerily weird sounding.

I wondered why they only seem to be loud from 9am until 6 pm. Thank goodness we can sleep with windows open.

I wondered why the cicadas flew to bushes, low shrubs and trees and my flowers and the porch railings to leave their carcass. Why is there a hole in the back of the body and what came out of it?

If these are 13 or 17 year cicadas I might not be around to see and hear this phenomena again. Which is okay because once is more than enough. I can remember a few other times but a busy life meant it was not high on my interest list.

I really don’t want my wonderings answered. I will just be in awe of Nature in all her amazing-ness!

Except I think these creatures are definitely aliens from another universe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.