Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Dreher Island walk

It was a beautiful morning so we decided to go to Dreher Island to hike the trail along the lakeshore. Jerry knew it was hilly and had a couple of steep places and a few places with rocks and roots. His new knee did really well and we are grateful that he is over the worst of the healing. Still not 100% but so much better movement wise and mostly pain free.

We did not see a single flower along the trail that was mostly shady so one the way back we decided to take the power line road where I found a dandelion, farkleberry bush and hemp dogbane. Also an oak gall on the ground next to a heart leaf. Made me smile. The tiny caterpillar came up on the Seek app as pseudosoibla, a sawfly larva maybe. Really white. The little island is usually accessible by walking when the lake is down but now the lake is almost at full for summer. There was actually an osprey sitting on the nest that you can barely see. And so many turtles sunning today. One big mushroom that someone had knocked over but it was still photogenic!

We laughed at the trail arrow pointing under the fallen tree. I could have gone that way but the man is too tall.

I did not take my big girl camera as I just wanted a walk. I should know better than to leave it behind. Birds and turtles need zoom lenses. Oh well, loved the walk anyway!

After walking, we ate at one of our favorite buffet restaurants for a late lunch. Jerry was happy when he saw they had rutabagas today. Not me! It was all so yummy and we both ate too much. No more food today for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.