Marionb

By Marionb

Up the Creek..

..with a camera....in search of blip-ops.

It was another rainy day at my daughter's house, but when the rain let up, I took a walk down into the ravine to check out what was happening along the creek. Apparently there was a lot going on in the frog community as every time I passed by the small pond or the creek itself, there was a "plop"!  

I did find some flora down there too - lots of marsh marigolds, violets and, for me, a first - cardamine bulbosa - an elegant little plant with tiny white flowers that sit high above the foliage...(collage in extra) 

My son-in-law was reading this book Outlive that seems to be the rage in his age group...(extra) It looked really interesting and the stated purpose  of the book was to show the reader how to "achieve longevity" and how to "live longer and live longer better". What a great idea! Count me in...

I could see from the first few pages I read that, although it would indeed by interesting, it didn't seem to be targeted at someone as old as me... ? My first clue? 

"The majority of people reading this book will die somewhere in their seventies or eighties, give or take." 

Well, drat, I am already 78! Doesn't leave me much time to read this book and turn things around...

and then this...(note the term "us")

 "Many of us in our thirties, forties, or fifties are watching our parents disappear down the road to physical disability, dementia or long-term disease." 

Geez that one hurt! 

My daughter and SIL are in their fifties...Are they already watching me disappear down that road? I didn't even know I was ON that road...let alone disappearing down it! This book is definitely too late for me! 

But ...for younger folks who still have the time ahead of them to set themselves on a better trajectory to longevity, it might be worth a read. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.