wooly wonders

By biblios

Channel4 News wins!

One of the speakers today was Geoff White who is a technical producer at Channel4 News. I have never really thought about how other jobs have changed only really my own as the internet has become a standard, while librarians have lost the title of gate keeper, the news people have lost the title of sole news place to go. Their market is has become so broad and so muddied that the job of producer is now better defined as not reading the news and not on screen!
How they get news and how they decide the running order and why was fascinating, I will look at all my news with fresh eyes and a much better understanding, his job covers everything from finding, writing, filming, editing, setting and organising a story!
I know my own news reading and watching has changed, I pick up news during the day, check the internet for more detail and watch stories develop. This is what they do in the offices in news desks, what was funny though was his comment that the moment of sending out a story is always matched with fear, and an OMG moments! As he said the internet is free to do what it wants he as an individual can be fined for misinformation!
Of all the candidates and speakers I saw he was the one I felt touched how life has changed and how we must change with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.