The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

The Kiltwalk Beach, Lanzarote

Nothing major to say today I just need a bit of chatter to go with the picture I took this afternoon.

It's hard to believe we've been here a week already, which means we've got five days left before we all head home for T in the Park music festival. Which, according to an article I read in todays paper is number two of the top 40 ways to recognise someone is having a midlife crisis.

Well I think I'll be writing to said newspaper, as I had my mid life crisis 5 years ago when I went to T in the Park on my own, now that was a midlife crisis :-)

Anyway a week in and I'm happy to say we haven't had too many sibling wars and all in all they've treated each other relatively well, but it could all still all go horribly wrong, so I'll not count my chickens yet.

One of the things I've enjoyed most has been catching Wimbledon and in particular Oor Andy's performances. That said, yesterday was a bit of a nail biter but it demonstrated a level of maturity he didn't posses several years ago, as he'd have gone all petulant and lost in three sets.

I did scour a few papers today and it would appear the general consensus from what passes for the Englisg press talked of the Scot losing the first two sets, but the Brit roaring back to win the last three :-)

So let's finish with todays picture.

We were supposed to go to the Waterpark today, however although no one was rolling around last night, I think we all had a few shots too many. That honey rum is lovely mind. This meant we were late up and by the time we got our collective backsides in gear, had missed all THREE buses to Costa Teguise.

We settled for a trip to the beach, which unbelievably doesn't have sun beds at the moment due to the council holding out for the highest bidder for the rights to hire you all a sunbed. Anyway we tiptoed across the blazing sand and found one of the few shaded areas and set up camp.

Holly, Scott and Sophie all raced off to the waters edge to build an enormous sandcastle, which turned out a cracker. Well given they're 17, 17 and 18 respectively it should have been :-)

I wondered down to see how they were getting on and noticed Oor Holly had written this in the sand, which did make me laugh as it would appear I have the poor wee souls as brainwashed as me.

I asked Holly what had inspired her to write this on the sand, to which she replied "well you never know who'll walk by and read it and then ask what it all means". Fair shout I guess.

So, anyone up for a Lanzarote Kiltwalk?

Must dash as I have a beach worth of sand to now remove from everywhere!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.