A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Ian Beesley at Salt’s

‘Life Goes On’ is the name of the newly opened exhibition of photographs from this local photographer which opened in Saturday.
A misty start to the day so a good time to visit something indoors. Also I’d had good news from the doctors this morning. I’d had a text following my blood test on Monday to make an appointment, so I was up early to make one and was told I would get a call back. Though I was expecting bad news I thought it a bit odd I wasn’t getting a face to face appointment. Anyway he wanted to congratulate me on getting my blood sugar levels down after quite a high reading in January. I was delighted. 
Salts Mill was a great place to celebrate with a coffee but I didn’t indulge in cake in this occasion!

I’ve seen some of these exhibits before in an exhibition called ‘Retrospective’ back in 2022 on the top floor of the mill but they still had great impact. black and white images largely from the late 20th century of life in industry and it’s decline. In the main blip you can see the fabulous space the mill affords and that many of the panels consisted of sheets of contact prints with examples around them that had been picked out and enlarged. 

In the extra, the first enlarged panel of contact prints shows the stripping out of the machinery  in Salt’s Mill in 1986. There are also images of areas of Bradford that were cleared of old houses in the ‘70s. One shows a pub that was left standing alone and similarly in another,  a fish and chip shop.  

At the end of this picture a lady is looking at enlarged negatives all hand annotated by Ian himself as are the rest of the exhibits.
When we came out the mist was gone and the sun was warming everywhere up.

Lots to see and a great place to see them.

I’ve tagged this for wide Wednesday but I’m aware that this isn’t nature!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.