An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It never rains on the golf course...

Well today I found myself having lunch in the Century Bar at Gleneagles.

We were given a voucher for Christmas (2022) by a lovely friend and it had to be used by tomorrow, so it was now or never :-)

The rain was absolutely chucking it down when we set off on the very short journey.  Thankfully we got parked close to the main entrance and received a very warm welcome from the kilted concierge who remembered us from our visit for afternoon tea at the start of the month.  

Once settled in the Century Bar the pleasurable task of choosing lunch began.  My appetite is a bit all over the place at the moment (again I blame the antibiotics) but I did feel hungry.  We both chose the courgette and spinach soup with parmesan, creme fraiche and mint oil, then D had the west coast lobster in a milk bun with Thermidor sauce, lemon and chives, and I had the Highland Wagyu Nduja, rocket, Gleneagles & Co red onion chutney in ciabatta. 

If we had realised the soup was such a large portion we would have skipped it (although that would have been a shame as it's once of the best soups I've ever had.) D managed to eat all of his main course but I only managed half of mine before I was defeated.  Coffee for D to finish and a pot of digestion helping peppermint tea for me.

It was so lovely to sit there in the lovely Century Bar, looking at the rain pouring down outside and people watching inside.  I am always amazed by the number of young families staying there.  Lots of children and babies.  And of course we love playing spot The Influencers :-))

We stopped at the Dormy Clubhouse on the way home as there was a golf top D wanted.  I stayed in the car with a lovely view onto the King's Course, even it it was raining.  D said there was a lot of disappointed golfers in the  Clubhouse trying to get their money back as the course had suspended play.

Once home I put my feet up and fell into a deep snooze and D went to Dundee to meet up with Andrew and his mum and bring him back here.  As predicted Andrew is hyper about our holiday in June.  Keen to get things organised and make plans!  His enthusiasm is infectious!  :-))

No dinner for us after our large lunch, so I got some crocheting done and finally got the blanket finished!  Yay!  Well, not quite.  Not entirely happy with the edge I've put on it - a row of half double crochets.  Will review it in the morning but I suspect I will rip it out and do something else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.