0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

When I stopped Layla-Davis, I assumed from her appearance that she was a little older. So, when I asked what she did, I was a little surprised when she replied saying she was at college!

I didn't let on that I was surprised by this fact (thinking she was older) in case she took it negatively so I continued on, asking her what she was studying and what she hoped to go into afterwards.

When I was at college, which seems like years ago now, it was uncommon for people to mix subjects from both science and arts categories. Chemistry and English Literature for example, which Layla was taking amongst other two subjects. I asked her why, since it seemed like a strange combination, and it made sense once she had told me - "To keep my options open".

Layla is thinking about going into Law, but I think it was wise of her not to restrict herself if she changes her mind or wants to pursue something different.

Having spoken to her for a while, Layla may be in her late teens or slightly older, but she had the maturity and vision of someone much older - I think she will do well in whatever she decides upon as a career.

For the photo, I tried something new which was to use some fill-flash. I rarely use the pop-up flash on my camera, but the street I was in had tallish buildings on two sides, restricting the amount of light...It added a nice catchlight, if nothing else :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.