0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

It was while I was crossing the road that Tamsin came across my field of vision. Something about her made me stop her. These types of situations are my personal favourite - where I make a snap decision to ask someone without really getting a look at them. This way there is no pre-judging, or forming any kind of opinion - simply the subject.

Tamsin was hesitant at first, informing me that she had just been to the salon for a spray tan and she might look 'weird'. After a few playful remarks, she agreed and I took a few shots. We talked a bit more through the shoot, and as I was getting more comfortable around her, I thought to try something new (once again) and asked her to stay posed as she was.

I opened my lens wide open (f/1.4 in case you're wondering) and stepped in a little closer to take some more shots, one of which I've selected.

Luckily, I had taken enough to have a couple to select from. As you can imagine, the DOF is insanely shallow at 1.4 and can lead to more shots out of focus than in. I had fixed the AF into her left eye to ensure this wouldn't happen and it worked out OK. On the negative side however, I did get a green tinge across my photos at this aperture - fringing perhaps, or a bad selection of white balance (auto)? I'm not sure, anyway I was able to compensate in post afterwards so not a huge problem.

Tamsin works in catering but would ultimately like to become a Masterchef (her own words). She's actually from London, but was in Leeds visiting family.

Looks like a hot weekend, enjoy whatever you're doing everyone! :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.