Look Out

By chrisf

Bike Store

I started the day by visiting mum’s young oak tree. Then on to spend the day with dad. He’ll be 98 next month. Fortunately he knows who I am, and his carers are fab. There is a new contraption to raise him off his armchair, lower him onto his bed and vice versa - loads better than the previous machine. Conversation is one way, he has difficulty getting words out and is difficult to understand. But he seems OK in himself. He slept a lot whilst I was there, much of his time is being asleep. The TV was on all the time, two Poirrot’s and a Lewis were the highlights.

I took myself down to the High Street for lunch, passing all the bikers outside Bike Store, an emporium for bikers. There were a lot of flashy Harley Davidsons amongst the many motorbikes (and some scooters) parked on either side of the road.

At the end of the afternoon I travelled the four miles to the Waitrose at Hitchin, for provisions. Before going there I walked along the attractive long main street looking for the tasting bar which the son of a friend opened yesterday. I eventually found it, wandered in, and had a good chat with O. He served me with a pint of 0.5% alcohol beer (surprisingly good) and I took photos to send to his mum as a surprise. For blip purposes a street view will suffice ( extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.