Another Day

By BlackTulip

Isolated

It was a beautiful day and warm early on.  JJ went to the golf club for Liam’s golf lesson and I put my wellies on and headed for the fields, for the first time in ages.

It’s still squelchy over the back and down the side of the school, but it was dry around the pond and playing fields, and surprisingly dry up through the middle of the wheat field.

Straight across towards the old railway line, where I took this picture of the big uncultivated fields and what looks like a small patch of wheat stuck in the middle.  It’s actually the bottom end of a very large field that goes up to the ridge.

I turned right at the railway and that’s where it got very tricky with thick mud most of the way along.  It was full of birdsong with blackcaps, garden warblers and chiffchaffs vying for attention.

Straight on at the next junction, where it was a little less tricky and then right up onto the ridge for the downhill walk home.  Instead of turning right down through the middle of the wheat field I walked all the way around the outside.  Skylarks and yellowhammers serenaded me as I walked.  Magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.