MaryannA

By MaryannA

A Patriotic Pin for everyone!

When my guests arrived I had them choose by order of age, a patriotic pin from a collection I found among my brother and sister-in-law's old jewelry box. I thought it appropriate to give them as gifts to remember this 4th of July, especially. I took a pic of each pin as they wore them and took a pic of mine as well. There were eight of us and Miss Nora, of course. It was a great day and we had good food, good conversation and fun. The cheese tray was made by my mother in a ceramics class she took in the seventies. That is our family name. Good Italian stock.
My company left a little before dark, and we (my daughter and I) have settled in to watch the Boston Pops do "The 1812 Overture" at our traditional 4th of July celebration at the Esplanade on the Charles River. The cannons and fireworks are exploding as the music comes to a climactic close as I am typing my journal. When I was younger, I would go to Boston for the festivities, but watching on TV is quite sufficient these days. It will finish off the night with about 25 minutes of non-stop fireworks set to popular music playing in sync.

It was a very hot and humid day today. We divided our time indoors and out. Hope all had as nice a day as we did! Happy 4th ~ 2013!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.