Winsford

By Winsford

Aig an taigh

A quiet day at home in which I mainly focused on my Gaelic. 

I had to smile at the Learn Gaelic Word of the Day today - Polcan-Fainge - a colloquial term for best clothes as in  Bidh na polcan-fainge air a h-uile duine aig am Met Gala a-nochd! /Everyone will be wearing their finest attire at the Met Gala tonight!


The smile was prompted by the more literal translation "fank clothes" i.e. the clothes you wear to the sheep fank.


It is also a fine example of the genitive which is what we were looking at in my revision class i.e. clothes of the fank


Of course wearing your "polcan-fainge requires a choice of accessories. For me this generally involves a scarf in the "winter" and a necklace in the "summer". In order to make the later more readily accessible I hang them inside wardrobe door today (using stick-on hooks). Bidh mi na poclan-fainge, nach bi/ I will be in my best clothes, won't I ?". Well maybe not but you never know :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.