MrsPuff

By MrsPuff

Lost and Found

Mario & I went for a drive today, as it was such a nice day.
We went down to Waimate, then headed inland to Kurow, then back through Duntroon, Ngapara, and on to Oamaru.

We found this abandoned house on the road to Ngapara. It really was in a sorry state, and appears to have lost it's battle with the elements.

I just love old, abandoned houses, so I took a few shots. If you'd like to see them, click here.

The art deco-style fireplace is not original, as the house looks to be at least 100 years old. We weren't able to go inside because there were no floors left! It's hard to believe now, that someone once lived there.


After yesterday's ice cream blip, I had some requests for the recipe. I got the recipe from you tube last year. If you click here you can see how it's made!

I've also written it out because I have too much time on my hands!

600ml of cream (just ordinary whipping cream)
395g tin of sweetened condensed milk (385g in the you tube video, but I use a 395g tin)
200g milk chocolate, melted
1 packet (about 200g)of Oreo cookies (or any other cookie you like!)


Break the chocolate into pieces and melt in the microwave. Leave to cool slightly.

Place cream and sweetened condensed milk into a bowl and whip until thick (best done with an electric mixer as it takes a few minutes!)

Pour cooled chocolate into cream mixture while stirring with a spoon, then add crushed cookies and mix.

Spoon mixture into a container and put in the freezer until set.

Makes 2litres of ice cream!

This recipe's quite flexible, you can add chopped chocolate biscuits or bars. Or, you could put in white chocolate instead of milk choc, and add frozen raspberries & cookies. Yum!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.