Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

GR221 Lluc to Pollença

Our last day of walking and the longest, but the flatest. I've nothing much to say about the walking except that it was much cooler than yesterday, which was welcome. Last night there'd been heavy rain, accompanied by thunder and lightning which had woken everybody up!

The GR221 finishes at a Roman bridge on the outskirts of Pollença, I'm preparing to take a photo when everyone eventually gets on the bridge. Josephine looks on. Then we all piled into the nearest bar to wait an hour for the bus back to Lluc.

For last night's dinner I'd chosen veal because I'm so sick of fish, but it disagreed with me, I'm not really used to meat any more and I had an uncomfortable night. Tonight my stomach thanked me for lentil stew, and spinach croquettes and salad.

So we've walked a total of 78** miles from Andratx to Pollença. The tour did miss about 10 miles out for logistical reasons, which was a shame but never mind!

Edit: Dinner tonight included a lentil stew as one of the starters, the first lentils weve had. Delicious! I'd asked our guide about the lack of beans and pulses in our meals, and she'd said that they're something that's served at home, they're not seen as suitable fare for visitors in the evening and of course can't be charged at the same rate as meat and fish. Fair enough, and I'd forgotten that in general that when I lived in Spain we mostly ate out at lunchtime, ie a Menu del Dia, a worker's meal when a plate of beans wasn't uncommon.

I slept badly at the monastery, the pillow was hard and lumpy, I even tried going pillowless but that was no good. This has been the first accommodation where there have been no pillows and cushions heaped on our beds. They have always been annoying and just chucked to one side, but how I would've loved a choice of pillow here!

**I'm trying to work out the mileage, which isn't easy given the number of variations in my guidebook, but I think we missed out another section early on. I'm afraid I am obsessed with such things so wish me luck.

11.53 miles
963 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.