Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello!

I usually start out the hummingbird season with a post of a male but thought I'd go a different direction this year and start with one of the ladies.  I think there are two females here although it's hard to tell.  And definitely one handsome male (Extra).  The female/s have probably started constructing nests already as they usually don't waste any time.  The male, who plays no role other than fertilizing the eggs) will spend his time looking fine and chasing everyone.

Jax is at day care today so I've taken advantage of a dog free day to do a bunch of planting in the garden.  I made another trip to the local farm and picked up some more flowers to fill in some of the bare spots.  Very happy with the way things are looking!

The swallows were back again this morning and this time I think it was a male and female which is promising.  Meanwhile, our resident male house wren has attracted a second female who is busy putting the finishing touches on a nest.  I think the first female is already on eggs although not sure because it's impossible to see into the nest with all the sticks in the way.  They really do make incredibly messy nests!  The bluebirds are still on 5 eggs.  So, at present, I only have 2 nest boxes empty, including the one under consideration by the swallows.  A good start to the nesting season.

My presentation last night went very well.  It's a little strange doing it on Zoom where you can't really interact with the audience, but apparently I did okay because there were lots of questions and kudos at the end - always a good sign.  

Still feeling a little stiff from my fall the other day, but really think I got off very easy on the whole thing.  

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.