Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Dancing Skies

Blip is already flooded with Aurora images, but I’m going to have to add my own! 

Back home after a wonderful few days of amazing experiences. We’re both tired, but at 10.00pm G drags me out to look for the Northern Lights. It’s not that I lack enthusiasm, it’s just that after doing so much over the last few days I really just want my bed. 

Leaving G to decide where the best viewing point will be, we end up on the Great Orme. Many others have had the same idea, and a stream of cars makes their way along the winding single track road. We find a spot away from all the others, me wondering whether we’re in the best place. At first there’s nothing, then suddenly, even with the naked eye we see the lights dancing overhead and across the sea. It’s amazing. 

I’ve set up my camera - tripod, settings, remote - but my lens just doesn’t allow the wide views that I need, so I resort to my iPhone, resting it either in the wall or the roof of the car. It’s so mesmerising that even G is drawn into the photo fest. 

So many colours and shapes with spectacular light shows across the mountains and the sea. We just don’t know where to look - landwards, seawards or just above our head. Eventually, we drag ourselves away, go home, and see the lights are so strong that we can even see them above our house. What a night! 

Many thanks for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts over the past few days - all very much appreciated. Now back home, I hope to catch up properly! 

Meanwhile, you have an Aurora set. I really do wish I was more decisive - but I don’t suppose I’m going to change anytime soon! I’ve gone for collages - but there’s also a shot across the estuary towards Anglesey, and another reflective shot taken across the roof of the car - the glass sunroof acting as a mirror. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.