Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A DISAPPOINTING RESULT

It was the last home game of the season for Newcastle United this afternoon against Brighton - 3pm kick off.

Buses were running late but I still managed to get into town in good time.  When I was on the bus I realised I hadn't put any perfume on.  So first stop when I got to town was a quick visit to Boots to have a few squirts of perfume from the testers there.  I chose an expensive one.. Ralph Lauren Woman Eau De Parfum ( it costs £81 )

Made my way to the ground.  Town was absolutely packed - black and white footie shirts everywhere  - but there was only a short queue at my turnstile.  When I sat down in my seat the lady next to me said straight away " Oh - you smell lovely "... RESULT

Wor Flags made a big effort today with their displays.  Every stand had flags to hold or wave.  My flag was a small black one. Ive added an Extra of one fan taking a shot of the display in The Leazes End.

The match was a disappointing one for Newcastle fans.  Brighton scored the first goal on 18 mins.  However at the very end of the first half Newcastle equalised.  And thats how it stayed.  Final score 1 - 1.  

I have blipped one of the little signs which appear all around the back of the fence which borders the pitch.  The motif seems to sum up the mood of the Newcastle fans when the final whistle went.

Newcastle really needed a win and 3 points to keep their hopes of qualifying for Europe alive. It will all depend on how they do in the last 2 games of the season - they play Manchester United on Wednesday evening and then the last game is against Brentford on Sunday afternoon.  Plus it depends on how other teams do as well.  So it will be a nervous wait to see if we will be back in Europe next season.

After a short wait the manager, backroom staff, players, their wives and children took part in a lap of appreciation to thank the fans for their support throughout the season.  Lovely to see all the children.  Not easy to take photos as everyone was crowded together / not looking in my direction but I've added one as an Extra - its Miggy Almiron and his little lad Francesco.

After I left the ground I went to Tesco to get some salad items and then headed for the bus stop.  The buses were still " up the creek " .  I waited 20 mins... and then two arrived together. Typical. 

The weather today has been very warm and very sunny.  I was at the match in short sleeved ( black and white striped ) T shirt - and wearing sunglasses.  That doesn't happen often.

* A bit of good footie news.  Gateshead FC were at Wembley this afternoon playing in the final of the FA Trophy.  The full time score was 1 - 1.  Extra time was played and the score was 2 - 2 so there was a penalty shoot out which Gateshead won 5 - 4.  Well done The Heed.

Steps today - 7,860

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.