Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

MEAL AT THE BLACKBIRD

I had arranged to meet American blip friends Peggy (KangaZu ) and Richard today before they head back home tomorrow.  They are staying at a hotel near Newcastle Airport so I got a bus to Newcastle city centre and then the Metro to the airport.  We met up at around 4pm. 

Had a chat and a catch up and then we drove to The Blackbird - a pub in Ponteland.  Lots of chat and lovely food followed.  I chose fish and chips.  I opted for the medium size - which proved to be a very generous portion.  It was delicious.

Back to the airport where we said our Goodbyes.  Thank you Peggy and Richard - I had a lovely time.  Safe travels tomorrow.

When I got to the Metro station at the airport there was a train ready and waiting and I was soon off on my way back to Newcastle. I got off the Metro at Monument Station where there is a very long escalator to street level.  I was only a short way up when some idiot must have pushed the Emergency Stop Button  so I had to walk all the way to the top. Climbing those steps was exhausting.

 When I got outside I checked the bus app for times of buses to get home. There was a long wait for the two buses which stop near my house so I went to Eldon Square Bus Station to catch an earlier bus which goes along Front Street in the village and then I would walk home from there.

One of Becky and Neils old teachers from Primary School caught the same bus and we sat together.  He just lives round the corner from me and we see each other now and again in the village.  We had a good catch up during the journey. The bus stopped outside Tesco so I popped in there to collect a parcel and buy some fruit before heading home.

The weather today was very warm and sunny.  I hope its the same over the weekend.

Steps today - 9,305

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.