Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

The 2014 Yorkshire Photographic Federation …

Exhibition at Barnsley Civic Gallery - keynote speaker Marilyn Roberts.

The event was turned round this year with the keynote speech and presentation in the morning when it’s usually in the afternoon.  I’m guessing this was because of an evening performance in the theatre. Because I wasn’t 100% I left late morning, so didn’t have chance to walk round the photographic exhibition, but there will be chance as it’s there until the 22nd June.  The receptionist kept our box of returned prints so could collect them another day ( when I can drive up to the door) and Marilyn kindly brought a catalogue for each person who had entered,  I just entered two images this year, of which one was selected (I think they chose the wrong one but my sharing of the two images on FB suggests that more people would agree with the judges). They chose the most conventional landscape (Luskentyre) rather than the blues and greens of the second print, which is more abstract and the one I prefer.  There are some excellent images in the exhibition, but it feels more status quo to me than did last years selection. But different judges come up with different choices!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.