The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Silver studded blue in late afternoon sunshine

I went to Iping common again today after work and it was utterly delightful!
By the time I arrived (it's about 26 miles from where I live) it was pleasantly warm, but the sun was loosing it's strength a bit and the butterflies were roosting a little in the long grasses that grow beside the pathways,
This is a male silver studded blue butterfly (Plebejus argus). It gets it's name from the row of reflective blue scales found on the underside hindwing (although these 'studs' can be missing in some individuals.
It is quite a rarity (UK BAP priority species), and is confined to small colonies ,found mostly on heathland in England and Wales.
Iping Common which is good acidic heathland, has a large colony, and I have paid it several visits in the last two weeks or so to enjoy these little beauties during their short flight season.
I hope you will enjoy too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.