Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Lily of the Valley…

… In dappled sunshine.

I spent an hour, just sitting, in the garden. It was so lovely to hear birdsong.
I saw a treecreeper and a nuthatch as well as a few more ‘ordinary’ birds. And high above me were house martins (every year I have to look up swift/swallow or house martin?).
There were fewer ‘seeable’ insects, though they must be there.
Such simple pleasures. But so lovely.
Suddenly the lilac and apple blossom are out, and the honesty in flower. (The magnolia next door is a treat too; we have tried but have no success with it).

We’re cutting down visits to the Elderly One at the moment. An every day one is impossible, unless very short-term and, even every other day takes its toll.
I constantly weigh up practicality versus guilt.
What can you do Gladys?

I suppose you do what the Elderly One would say, which is :
‘Do one day at a time’.
(Have to smile at these pointless clichés!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.