Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Get off my back, you cad!

Red Milkweed Beetles (Tetraopes tetrophthalmus)

As you know, I've titled my journal "Life's Little Moments" and as the name implies, this journal is meant to capture some of the moments in my life that I especially want to remember. Now, lest you think that copulating beetles are my thing ... you would be wrong! What I want to remember here is the moment ... Anni and I were walking through a meadow this morning with dragons, swallows and bluebirds ... and milkweed beetles. When we saw these two, we starting laughing and making up little stories - it was just silly fun between two friends. But whenever I look at this shot, I'll think of the two of us crouched in this field under a blazing hot sun, sweating like a couple of farm laborers, giggling up a storm.

We saw more Halloween Pennants than I have ever seen, as well as Anni's first bluebird and even some baby swallows in a nest box. We made a few more stops - more dragons, some interesting scenery - then home for lunch. And, then, I bid a sad and somewhat tearful goodbye to Anni as she headed to Western PA. It has been great fun having her stay here the past few days - we've had loads of laughs and both taken so many photos ... I got to share the Bistro with both she and PhotoMatt which was so much fun!

I posted 15 shots from today Flickr, starting HERE. There are two shots in the batch that I could use some help with...

The first is a male Eastern Pondhawk with what appears to be eggs on its belly - I can't find anything that suggests that this species of male carries eggs. Any ideas?

The second is an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail that was mudding and would release some sort of secretion from it's bottom every few seconds. We both took a bunch of pics, but this is the only one I got that shows the secretion. Again, any ideas on what is happening would be welcome.

Thank you for sending my hummie to the Spotlight yesterday, and for the comments, hearts and stars. Much appreciated. And I'll attempt to start getting caught up tomorrow...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.