Living my dream

By Mima

Silly bird

As I walked up the path in the early dawn light to the truck this morning I glimpsed a dark shape in the Timms Trap. "Hooray, another possum bites the dust!" I thought and decided to leave its disposal until it was daylight, and I was fed and coffeed.

So imagine my confusion when I went to retrieve the body, only to find a black feathery 'possum' in the trap. What a silly blackbird. It must have decided the apple core lure was too tasty to miss and triggered the mechanism with fatal results. 

I have never heard of a blackbird being culled in this way. Don't feel too sorry for it: not only are blackbirds an introduced species outcompeting natives for food, but they create havoc in my garden in their insatiable search for worms and other wrigglers in the soil and the lawn. I battle them all year round. So if I can reduce their numbers in this way, I am delighted.

It's been another day of a little composting, a little cooking, a nice walk in the sun, a little reading, some mowing and - best of all - crossing everything off my list.

Bean supervised and ensured top quality outcomes. She hit all her KPIs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.