Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

New openings?

I went into Bristol this morning for a meeting and a 'finding out more conversation'. Having been doing public involvement in research projects since the end of 2020, it's something I became very interested in. There are some hurdles to get over, but if they can be jumped then I am going to apply to the National Institute for Health Research for a fully funded pre-doctorate in health and social care research, leading to a funded PhD. I think it's the first thing I've been excited about since covid started. The first hurdle is getting a host organisation, but both the Carers Support Centre and Local Authority have said they will help see if they can do this. The problem is that it's normally for an employee and the NIHR buy that person by paying the host to release them, so I am paid a salary and tution fees etc. are also paid.

Anyway I found out today that after my initial exploratory meeting a few weeks ago that members of one of the project teams (the one I'm chair of) were delighted and have volunteered to be my sponsors and mentor. Plus there may be opportunities to work in that research department in the University while I'm studying! 

The applications have closed for this coming academic year so it wouldn't be until 2025, which gives time for all the necessary things to be in place, and the application which takes a while as I have to include an outline of my PhD proposal.

Pretty sure that both Mr T and Mum will be happy about this possibility.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.