Teasel

By Teasel

Tulip Meadow

What an amazingly lovely day it has been – the first hot day we have had this year.  To be honest I struggled in the heat, as we have gone from cold, to a little less cold to pretty hot, and I certainly haven’t adapted to hot.
 
It was the perfect day for a washing fest and I made the most of the weather.  I then headed out for a run, and ran just over seven miles, which is the furthest I have run this year on the hottest day of the year – maybe not my best idea.  It was very hot. I hugged into the edge of the paths and the shadows where I could, as the air was marginally cooler. I stopped to shelter under some trees for a couple of minutes at around the five mile mark, to cool down a wee bit and to get my breath back, as I knew there was no shelter at all on the rest of the route home.   It took me a long time to cool down once I got home.
 
I eventually summoned the energy to make some lunch, and enjoyed it in the garden.  I then read my book for a while, but it was so hot, I had to head indoors to the cool down again.  BB was studying but kept coming out for a wee bit of sunshine, before retreating to the cool of the house.
 
Later I went for a walk to stretch my legs.  it was very peaceful down by the river, especially compared to last Friday afternoon.  The  female swan was sitting on her nest and the male swan was a long way down the river.  The two geese were swimming together, making the most of a child feeding the ducks.  I stopped off at the supermarket on my way home to pick up provisions for tea., and came home and made a miso chicken, aubergine tray bake.  It was lovely being able to sit outside while it cooked, enjoying the warmth of the evening.  We then had a quiet evening, watching a bit of TV.
 
That was until BB jumped up and ran outside.  A couple of his friends had posted pictures of the aurora borealis, and he ran out to see what was happening.  He came back to get me, then made TT get out of bed.  It was just amazing to see it from our back garden,  I was in my pyjamas, so was going no further, though I am sure we could have had a better view if we had walked along the road and up the hill.  What thrill!
 
The tulips which I posted recently, had all opened out in the sunshine today and were looking lovely.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.