curns' corner

By curns

Footie

I was on a train from Wimbledon Chase at 2:03pm for the 10-minute journey to Haydons Road and the short walk to the new Plough Lane stadium. I met Jo and Amber in the cafe of the gym, which was remarkably empty given that there were large crowds of supporters walking past the door. It looked like a lovely cafe, but we didn’t hang around. We were in our seats just after 2:30pm as the crowd arrived. I always love to see Haydon the Womble making the rounds, mainly when he uses the dustbin to drum the beat of the chants. It’s very appropriately Womble.

The match (v Morecambe) seemed to be dominated by AFC Wimbledon for most of the 90 minutes, which made it a shame that Morecambe equalised at 74 minutes. When I looked at the match stats later, I was surprised that Wimbledon only had 51% of the possession. I assumed it was more from watching the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.