curns' corner

By curns

Letter from 1981

I have been sorting a few things out that I brought back from Shrewsbury at the start of the year. Most of the stuff is still in the suitcase I used to transport back. In the loft, there were a lot of promotional materials from various radio stations. As a child, I would write to radio stations for information about their radio station: programme schedules, stickers, DJ photos, etc. Periodically, I would also write to the IBA - the governing body of UK commercial radio at the time - for the latest information about new stations. This envelope contained the IBA Code of Advertising Standards and Practice. The material was dated May '81, although the envelope is postmarked August.

It's interesting to find this document because the IBA no longer exists (it has been superseded by the Radio Authority and now Ofcom). Moreover, it was posted to our house in Wigan before we moved to Shropshire. This is a great discovery. I scanned the document as someone might find it an interesting part of radio history. The envelope will probably be shredded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.