curns' corner

By curns

Old numbers, old bag

I had planned to use an hour after work to tidy some of the things I'd brought up from Shrewsbury in early January that are still around the office, but I didn't really get to it. One of the items is a bag of paperwork. I don't know what's inside this BBC Radio Manchester bag, but it dates from the early 1980s when radio stations promoted their medium wave frequency more than their FM (and the metres rather than Khz). Just before we left Wigan to move south, Radio Manchester was experimenting with small-scale community stations that used to opt out of the main service for some parts of the day. As we were moving in the summer of 1984, I recall a portacabin-like building near Wigan's market hall, which housed BBC Radio Wigan, the local opt-out, but I can find almost no references to it online today.

I guess it might have been this local opt-out that stimulated my interest in learning more about the BBC station from Manchester, even though I only listened to its commercial rival, Piccadilly. I am not sure when the BBC gave up the 206m frequency, but it's not used today.

I made a delicious beef chilli this evening, and I don't know why it was better than others I've made. Maybe it was the fact that I used chicken stock instead of beef stock because we'd run out of those cubes.

We watched the last episode of the current season of Slow Horses, which means we have binged our way through another series. I feel good. We're catching up on many programmes we have intended to watch for ages.

The last episode seemed very rushed at the end. There was a bit of jeopardy in the early part of the episode and a lot of shooting, of course, but I felt that the conclusion was squeezed into the last few minutes, and it would've been better or at least more satisfying, to play over a bit longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.