curns' corner

By curns

775

I got up and has omelette for brunch. I tried to use a lot of the vegetables up from the fridge as we have a bit of a stockpile of unused things from our veg box deliveries.  Then, just about 1pm, we headed for the bus stop.

We were off to see friends to make out selection of the Airbnb that we want to stay in for our planned October Italian holiday.  There were no easy trains to Streatham today but we are lucky that we have a direct bus. The 57 from Kingston comes through Raynes Park and then through Streatham, right around the corner from M&R, on its way to Clapham Pond.  It takes about an hour and, today, it felt like we were either crawling through traffic or stopping at every stop on the way. I am not sure why it felt so long as it really only took the hour the timetable said it would.

On the bus stop there’s a route map for 775 which appears to be a school holiday specical to Brighton and Eastbourne. Periodically, I notice this and, if I forget I have seen it before, I go and read it; intrigued.   And I always get the same feeling. At first I think, “what a fun thing to do, we must do that next time it runs” and then I see that this timetable loss from 2016 and look online to find this is no longer running. What a shame. And why do the people who manage these things not remove it?

We had to leave about 5:30pm, via bus and tube, to make it to The Leicester Square theatre for 7pm where we had tickets to see Larry Dean.   He’s a comedian who PY and I both discovered on Instagram and, when he announced some shows in London, we booked. And it was a wonderful evening of comedy, even if there was a bit of a twist at the end of the show.  He’s has an incredible ability to do voices and accents which, when combined with his ability to contort into strange postures, makes for an amusing watch as well as listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.