curns' corner

By curns

Dinner

As I went to bed early last night, I felt much more rested than I have been doing when I woke up. I even gave myself a little bit of extra time in bed this morning to feel fully refreshed. It really did make a difference to the rest of the day.

At work we had a prioritisation session (we use the phrase Big Boulders which I’ve not heard in the context of software development before but it is, apparently, a fairly standard way to refer to major pieces of work) and a meeting with the interface design team about some features that I am responsible for. All moving along nicely. 

The rest of the afternoon was spent tweaking some documentation and, after the planning session, writing up some requirements for things we will get to next quarter.  I think a good amount of progress was made even if most of the day was spent staring at the computer screen in my office. 

PY spent the day preparing for an interview on Friday for which he has to give a presentation. He did pop out for some supplies and confirmed with the local lighting shop that the bulb we couldn’t replace in B&Q isn’t something that can be bought. Very frustrating. 

Lunch was some reheated quiche that was left over from last week but dinner was some fish cakes with leeks and fennel. It was delicious but part way through PY suggested adding some Stilton cheese to how its the fennel and it elevated it. We had an old episode of Glow Up, the make-up show, on in the background. It was from an earlier series when Stacey Dooley was hosting. The creations are amazing. Later, we caught up on this week’s Pottery Throwdown (it was abstract week) and, once again, there were some imaginative pieces.

Before we did all that we managed a quick walk around the block which was the only time I had been outside all day.  Then I started to upgrade a computer that I haven’t used since starting my new job. Although it’s not been six months, there seemed like a lot of updates and I sat for a couple of hours downloading and updating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.