curns' corner

By curns

Morning coffee

Another £13.20 to South Western Railway this morning for a ticket to Staines. I can’t wait until they install contactless to save the faff. There was an article in the paper last week reporting, again, that tap-to-pay services are being extended across the South East. No mention of Staines in the one I read.  I wonder if it will happen while I still have to commute. Last week’s day in a co-working space in Central London, somehow, felt nicer even though there were a lot of people and we ended up sharing a table with people who work elsewhere. 

I’m glad I brought my filled coffee cup this morning. After standing on the station back in January when there was a queue I have been trying to get up early enough to make coffee. Today the weather is very cold and the hot drink is very welcome when I am standing at Twickenham. I’ve taken to wondering if it’s an age thing and I am starting to feel the cold more. My hands were particularly chilly today and it’s no use trying to war them up on my coffee: the insulation on this one is very good and keep my coffee hot all the way into the office.  Or maybe I have just forgotten what it’s like to stand on station platforms in winter. Still, it’s March tomorrow and the days are starting to feel longer. 

Home for dinner of lovely leftovers. So much veg to use up but very filling. Later we started to watch the first episode of the Russell T Davies’ mini-series about the life of Crossroads star, Noele Gordon.  Nolly, focussed on the time around 1981 when Noel was sacked from the role of motel owner Meg Richardson.  We were so hooked by the first episode that we ended up watching all three. It’s one of the launch shows for ITVX but, I imagine, will turn up on the main ITV channels soon. Thoroughly recommend,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.