RPT

I took a slightly different route on my morning walk to make sure that I could post some items that need to be delivered as soon as possible and take the UPS parcel that contains the dead AirPod to a shop that handles UPS.  I chose Mike's News on Durham Road because I can make a decent loop up past Holland Garden Park part of my morning routine.

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful in my world but elsewhere it's very different. I did listen to a couple of episodes of the New York Times 'The Daily' podcast. Like many news organisations they have reporters in Ukraine and listening to their stories is my attempt to try to understand what a terrible experience the people of that country are living through. The resilience of some of those interviewed is amazing. I am in awe. There is no word from the meeting on the Belarus border but the news is suggesting that large Russian convoys are advancing on Kyiv. The next few days are going to be awful.

In the evening I put on the dinner, left PY with some instructions on what to add after 30 minutes, and went to the gym. I did another 45 minute Apple Fitness workout, Treadmill with Emily, which was difficult enough for me to take my mind off everything except trying to stay upright on the treadmill. I am really enjoying these workouts because they push me more than I do myself. On the way back I grabbed some bread from the Co-op and took this picture for Blipfoto's Mono Monday challenge.

This week's challenge theme was Landmark.  I am not venturing very far so decided to take a picture of The Raynes Park Tavern (RPT). It's on a corner of the one-way system and it's useful when giving directions to people. 'Turn left onto the one-way at The Tavern' is a useful phrase and think makes it qualify as a landmark. It's also a nice dog friendly pub. As it had just stopped raining when I took the picture, I got the added benefit of the light's reflection on the damp streets.

The Barber's shop to the left of the picture has only recently opened. From memory, I think this building was - at one time - the off-sales part of the pub and was only later a stand alone shop unit.  I did photograph the pub when it was a bit lighter - and without the current scaffolding that surrounds much of the structure - back in November 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.