Nicky

By nicky

Aldeburgh

I was thinking of going to Sutton Hoo today but in the end I decided that could wait for a drizzly day and going to the coast would be a better option for today. So off I went to explore Aldeburgh which is just up the coast (via a long route round the river). I had a nose around the shops and had a coffee, then settled on the rather windy beach to eat my sandwiches, take some photos, scratch around in the shingle, and try a bit of watercolour. I haven’t done any painting out in the open like this for many a year, but I’d brought my little watercolour palette along with me so I thought I’d have a dabble. I really don’t know what I’m doing but just wanted to capture something from the day.

When I’d had enough of that, I decided to go back to the house and then walk down to the river’s edge and walk along for a bit (see extra). What a lovely walk! Behind the path there are lots of reed beds and I did manage to see a reed bunting (maybe more than one but I suspect it was the same one moving around) with the aid of Paul’s binoculars that I’ve borrowed (thank you!). My Merlin app also said that there was a linnet around and although I could hear it, I never caught sight of it.

If you look closely at the extra, you’ll see some more buildings on Orford Ness, known as the Pagodas, so you can see it’s not far away. Anyway, a lovely walk, about 2 miles in the end, so a lovely end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.