Nicky

By nicky

Sutton Hoo

I set off for Sutton Hoo this morning, thinking I’d just spend a couple of hours there and then go on somewhere else for lunch. But I didn’t realise what a fascinating place it was or that I would be so fascinated by it! I took a guided tour around the burial ground and the guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic that you couldn’t help but be carried along. Even the rain showers did nothing to dampen the experience. I had earlier listened to her give a short talk about the famous helmet which was equally inspiring. In the end, I was there for 5 hours so I just went back to the house afterwards, watching The Dig in the evening (which turned out to be a rather fanciful retelling, now I know the truth of the story!) Anyway, I’ve never seen the treasures from the site in the British Museum so I shall definitely be paying a visit there at some point.

Oh, and for those who don’t know, this is just a replica of what the helmet would have looked like. It don’t survive this intact after 1400-odd years in the ground!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.