Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Number 36

Where do I begin??? I'll leave the explanation for the sweet lady on the ladder for later. Let's start with number 36. That's what she ordered, and he ordered number 32. My prince played it safe with number 1...an easy number to remember, just in case! I ordered, and memorized, number 6. You've seen this restaurant before, if you've followed this journal for long. There's nothing dull about it...not one thing!

Let's see...number 36 came almost immediately, which was a shock after our last experience here. My dear friend had, indeed, ordered number 36, so she spoke up and they placed the food in front of her. It was my first twinge of concern...only one meal and it came out so quickly..perhaps it belonged at another table, thought I. She began eating and we enjoyed teasing her while we waited....when another server came out and asked who had number 36! We assured her that a number 36 had already been delivered, but she insisted that this was a different dish and was the real number 36. We suggested she allow our friend to continue eating the number 36 she already had.

Another bit of time passed and this sweet lady, that you now see on the ladder, came out carrying another plate and said this was the REAL number 36, and she should pass her husband the number 32...which is what she was currently eating after all. "Well, you're related, right? That's a good thing." Really??? Well, OK, so she passed the plate and accepted the new one.

Somewhere in there, I received my number 6 Mango Curry, and happily ate while I suggested that the number 36 was probably really my Beloved's number 1, and they would ask that the plate be passed to him. "Just kidding" I said...

No way! But yes! Yet another, certainly more experienced lady...the cook, I believe...came to take a look and exclaimed, "that is the number 1!" Yep...I called that one! We suggested that they allow our friend to keep eating the number 1 if he liked it and make another number one. OK, good idea...

Finally we all ate in peace, sharing stories and laughter, when the ceiling fan was on hyper drive and our entertaining server brought out a large ladder, much to the amusement of the entire restaurant, and began to climb and made multiple attempts at grabbing the little chain to slow it down...without getting herself tangled up with the speeding fan.

I'm happy to report that she came out unharmed in any way.

I am delighted an amazed at the loyal clientele that keep this restaurant full every night. We have heard many stories of the entertaining service, but everyone agrees the food is wonderful! Next time, we think we will all order the same thing ;-)

A big wave, "hello!" to our Cottage guests who spotted us at the restaurant tonight and said hello! What a treat to share this crazy, fun evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.