Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Sorting

My brother-in-law Mark and I left Holy Island at 06:40 to reunite with Mr hazelh at my mother's house. For them, this is their fourth day of five of sorting. For me, it is my first of two (because I have been looking after Mummy hazelh on Holy Island). 

The blip is of my afternoon view. The three of us sat at the dining room table working our way through decades' worth of family papers brought downstairs from my father's study. Amongst these were a letter from the headmistress of my high school to my parents complaining about my not-so-little sister's failure to comply with school uniform requirements, an uncashed cheque for £3,300 from 1989, evidence prepared by my father for police investigating a case of animal abuse, and details related to the dispersal of my maternal grandfather's assets from 1993 - still 'live' over a quarter of a century after his death!

Earlier in the day an auctioneer visited to view and assess the furniture and pictures that we audited last year. His advice has been invaluable. We think that his involvement in our mammoth task will be an enormous help. We just have to make sure that all three sisters are on board for the auctioneer's approach to the project. My not-so-little sister may take some persuasion.

This evening the three of us have enjoyed a quiet evening at the AirBnB accommodation that we booked for the duration of this phase of our work. It's lovely to be able to retreat here.

Meanwhile Mummy hazelh is with my middle sister on Holy Island. When I told Mummy hazelh that I was leaving this morning she said that she was not happy with this news. On learning that my middle sister would be looking after her for the next three weeks or so, she said 'That's even worse!' Oh dear...

Exercise today: walking (9,383 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.