Jack James

By JackJames

Irish sea

A lovely day in Bath, sorting the last few things that I needed to get from civilization before I headed back to deepest darkest Wales. I met up with Jessketh at 10 for a coffee, which was lovely because we'd somehow managed to avoid seeing each other since about chirstmas time, and had only very briefly bumped into each other at Glastonbury.

She's already graduated... and I've still got another 2 years of my degree! Starting to drag out before me in my mind...

Back at home, I fixed my bike up to a degree where it was rideable at least (though lots and lots needing to be done... a creaky back wheel is never a good sign, let alone spoke so loose that you fear they'll ping off and impale the back of your leg when you go downhill), and packed my bags. A swift lunch, a packed dinner, and I was ready for the 5 hour trip back to Betws-y-Coed.

Two changes, at Newport and Chester. All was very smooth and not too much stress, though got very busy between Bristol and Newport due to the rush our. I read my book, and listened to music.. it wasn't long before I was in Chester.

The train from Chester to Llandudno was delayed, but as I looked out my window, the stage was being set for an incredible sunset. A quiet, smooth sea stretched out to the horizon, the low sun painted all that we passed a golden hue, contrasted with the long, loping shadows that fell at each objects feet. Items of uglyness were transformed to art, the tall towers of the Deeside power stations and pylons taking on some other form, of giants striding out across shining pastures.

As we neared Llandudno, the sun lowered itself as if on stage wires into view from behind a band of cloud. A great, glowing, pulsating red orb, larger that I would have thought possible, sinking into sight, the last touch to bring the final act to as close to perfection as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.