Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Plaza San Lorenzo, Seville

Back blip

We’ve really lucked out with the location of this Airbnb. It’s very close to the Alameda de Hércules and to a lovely little square called Plaza San Lorenzo, on which sits the basilica of Jesus de Gran Poder. La Alameda barrio is trendy these days and very characterful with lots of little streets and houses and low storey buildings painted in Andalusian style.

Bb went to work this morning, but first having his breakfast on the plaza. I had my breakfast there later a cafe con leche and a really tasty tosta with salmorejo (cold soup, similar to gazpacho but much thicker and made with tomato, bread, oil, sherry vinegar and garlic) topped with an anchovy. Delicious!

Then back to the apartment and a good stint of marking.

In the early evening, Bb texted to say I was invited to join his colleagues that night for a tour of a bodega and dinner. Lovely! ‘What time?’, I asked. ‘Well, the bus leaves the hotel here in 20 mins.’ ‘And how long will it take me to get to the hotel?’, I asked. ‘Ten minutes by taxi’, came the reply. ‘**#€#*!!’, I said. I got directions to the nearest taxi rank, had a 2 min change of clothes, and arrived at the hotel where he and all his colleagues had gathered. The bus left in just 5 mins!! Thank goodness I got there though cos the bus journey to the bodega was an hour and 15 mins! See Bb’s blip for pics of the bodega, currently under restoration. A very informative tour and then lovely outdoor dinner in the grounds.

Bb and I then headed back to our barrio, after being dropped at the hotel, where everyone else was staying.

My extra pic is of the bocadillos de pringa in Bar Ricardo, at the end of our street - pringa being a mix of different meats used in different dishes. Look beyond them to the wall behind the bar to see the religious affinities of the place. We didn’t succumb to the pringa, but I’ve since had one for breakfast and it’s tasty, but perhaps an acquired taste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.