I found another one !

Yes - there is a second, secret, field where the poppies have taken over from the vibrant yellow rapeseed.

I decided to avoid the increasing mayhem of the photographers descending on the huge field and went to check out the wildflower meadow in Pipe Hall Farm Woodland Trust. It's stunning, and the butterflies were out in force.

I spent ages striving for the perfect shot of the six spot burnet moth, and was divebombed by brimstones and whites. The first Gatekeepers of the season were out in force, and I saw my first skippers too.

I walked along the path to the top of Jubilee Wood, and managed a shot from the opposite angle of the big poppyfield, showing the road and giving some idea of the size.
The opposite view of the big field
The daisies are now helping to give it that sort of milky feeling.

I was walking back in the heat and decided to follow the path through the original woods, to The Roundabouts.

And then I saw it
Another poppyfield
One that hasn't been invaded by photographers
One where the poppies are well on the way to taking over.
It is bordering the most southern part of the Woodland Trust property - and you can get clear views and no parking problems. Perfect.

The secret poppyfield 1
The secret poppyfield 2
Gatekeeper
Skipper
Six-spot Burnet Moth

And I got back in time for the tennis, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.