Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Blue ... and not Saturday

I'm been convinced all day that today was Saturday. Not unbrokenly, you understand, with an epiphany in the last ten minutes, but randomly, on and off, all day whenever I thought about "tomorrow" - which is actually the day after tomorrow. Clearly losing it - unless it's so clear in my mind that going out would be a Friday night thing. 

Apart from a short time of cloud in mid-morning, the sky was blue throughout and the air warm, with the sun burning down on my sheltered back garden as I toiled ... but I get ahead of myself. We both overslept by 30 minutes this morning, so Himself had to scamper to get the car to the garage down the road for its MOT. I did at least get some washing done and out before coffee ... Then we walked up to the church for Himself to run through the communion piece with me and for me to reorganise the plaster figures from the Easter Garden, especially the pair of what we call the "swooping ladies", a particularly large model of two women bowing their heads to the ground, and the simpering angels. They were all getting rather damp in a lidless box, but I was given a new box with a lid... such are the excitements of a worthy woman of the parish ...

Worthy or no, we were standing talking to a church friend outside when it occurred to me that on a hot, birdsong-filled, scented midday there are few places more beautiful than our church on the hill, so I've added a collage of photos I took as an extra.

We walked home. Himself collected the car and lunch was late. But from 3 o'clock till dinner time we both slaved in the garden; Himself cut the hedge while I hauled up huge weeds and then raked up all the hedge trimmings. The worst bit was moving all the pots out so that he could do that bit of hedge - neither of us could remember quite how they'd been and we were too hot and exhausted to think of taking a sensible photo. However, they're back, and after the sun was off them I turned the hose on them, so they should last another day.

My main photo is of the wonder that is a meconopsis just unfolding from its bud. I was so thrilled to catch a glimpse of the blue line this morning, and by late afternoon it was opening out properly. 

I'm not really a rampant horticulturist, you know - but tonight I'm a very tired one! But I still had the energy to go out to look at the amazingly bright moon ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.